UEFA Champions League draws – All you need to know

The UEFA Champions League will start earlier than before this season because of the FIFA World Cup that will hold in November/December at Qatar

Manchester City, Liverpool, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Chelsea and Tottenham await their fate in today’s Champions League group stage draw.

European football eagerly awaits the final touches to the calendar with the prestigious event in Istanbul, which will host this year’s final.

A Real Madrid team led by Karim Benzema defeated Liverpool in the season’s final, with Brazilian Vinicius Jr scoring the game-winning goal in Paris. However, Jurgen Klopp will be upbeat about his team’s chances this year after witnessing their resilience in bouncing back from difficult final losses in the past. Tottenham is back at the top of European football, and Antonio Conte is eager to succeed in a league he has previously struggled in.

Moreover, for the first time since 2007, Rangers and Celtic will also be included in the Champions League draw after Giovanni van Bronckhorst’s team prevailed against PSV in the final play-off round last night.

Here’s all you need to know about the draw, including what teams will play this season and which pots they have been designated in.

When is it?

The draw will take place on Thursday, 25 August at 5pm BST in Istanbul, Turkey.

What TV channel will it be on?

Fans will be able to watch the event on Supersport 3 on DSTV

Which teams are in it?

  • Chelsea
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Tottenham
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Barcelona
  • Real Madrid
  • Sevilla
  • Inter
  • Juventus
  • Milan
  • Napoli
  • Bayern Munich
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
  • Leipzig
  • Leverkusen
  • Marseille
  • PSG
  • Porto
  • Sporting CP
  • Ajax
  • Club Brugge
  • Salzburg
  • Celtic
  • Shakhtar Donetsk
  • Viktoria Plzen
  • Dinamo Zagreb
  • Maccabi Haifa
  • Copenhagen
  • Benfica
  • Rangers

What are the pots?

Pot 1: Real Madrid, Eintracht Frankfurt, Man City, AC Milan, Bayern Munich, Paris Saint-Germain, Porto, Ajax

Pot 2: Liverpool, Chelsea, Barcelona, Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Sevilla, RB Leipzig, Tottenham

Pot 3: Borussia Dortmund, Red Bull Salzburg, Shaktar Donetsk, Inter Milan, Napoli, Benfica, Sporting Lisbon, Bayer Leverkusen

Pot 4: Rangers, Dinama Zagreb, Marseille, Copenhagen, Club Brugge, Celtic, Viktoria Plzen, Maccabi Haifa.

There will be six match days in order for all the group matches to be played out. They will take place on 6/7 September, 13/14 September, 4/5 October, 11/12 October, 25/26 October and 1/2 November.

The round of 16 is due to take place over two legs on 14/15/21/22 February and 7/8/14/15 March 2023. The quarter-finals are in the diary on 11/12 and 18/19 April 2023 with the semi-final on 9/10 and 16/17 May 2023 and the final on 10 June 2023.

Share this post:


Scroll to Top