Which teams could face-off in the European Qualifiers Playoffs and when is the draw?

The qualifiers have just ended, 9 teams have booked their place in Qatar. Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Denmark, Croatia, England, Germany and Netherlands have all confirmed their place in the tournament.

Portugal and Italy will now head to a playoff, where 12 teams will compete for only three spots in Qatar.

List of teams in the Playoffs:

•  Portugal
• Sweden
•  Italy
• Wales
• Czech Republic
• Scotland
• Austria
• Russia
•  Poland
•  North Macedonia
• Ukraine
• Turkey

The playoffs will be split into three paths – A, B, and C. Each path will consist of semi-finals and a final, meaning three teams from 12 will advance – one from each path.

The draw of the playoffs will be done on the 26th of November with the six highest ranking teams from the groups going into pot one as seeded.

Teams that are going to be seeded according to the FIFA ranking:

• Italy
• Portugal
• Sweden
• Wales
•  Poland
• Ukraine

Ukraine and Russia are incapable of playing each other. Portugal and Italy are expected to encounter one of the following countries: the Czech Republic, Austria, Russia, Turkey, Scotland, or North Macedonia. The playoff semi-finals, which will be held on March 24 and 25 of next year, are the next important dates to remember.

By the end of March, everything will be set in stone, with the three finals taking place on March 28 and 29. Following that, preparations for the first-ever winter World Cup, which will begin on November 21, 2022, for the three winners teams joining Europe’s presence in Qatar, will begin.

Share this post:


Scroll to Top