Henry, Ozil, Lampard and others to star in over-35 EPG World Cup

EPG Over-35 World Cup
Football legends over the age of 35 from eight World Cup-winning nations are set to compete against each other in the summer.

Thierry Henry and other Football’s legends are gearing up for an unprecedented showdown on English soil, as the Ballgist reveals plans for an over-35s World Cup that promises to roll back the years for fans across the globe.

The competition, branded as the EPG Cup, is the brainchild of the Elite Players Group (EPG) and is set to feature eight historic World Cup-winning nations in a tournament that celebrates the enduring talent and spirit of some of the game’s most celebrated players.

Scheduled to light up the North of England, this event marks a thrilling addition to the football calendar, blending nostalgia with the timeless allure of the beautiful game.

When and where the O-35 EPG World Cup is holding

Mark your calendars for June 4th, as the footballing giants of England, Argentina, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and Uruguay prepare to reignite old rivalries and showcase their undiminished skills.

The tournament will unfold over a week, with quarter-finals kicking off the action, followed by semi-finals on June 8th, and culminating in a grand finale on June 11th. Venues are still under discussion, with several of the Premier League’s northern elite clubs in talks to host these historic clashes.

The Rules and the Stars

EPG Over-35 World Cup

In alignment with EPG’s vision, the tournament introduces a unique set of rules designed to level the playing field for the veterans. Competitors must be aged 35 or above, boasting either international caps or a minimum of 100 top-flight appearances.

The games, set to last 70 minutes, will feature 11-a-side teams with the flexibility of rolling substitutions from each side’s 18-man squad.

The lineup reads like a who’s who of football royalty, with England’s team alone sparking excitement. Rumored participants include Steve McManaman, who will captain the side, alongside footballing luminaries such as Michael Owen, Ashley Cole, Joe Cole, Rio Ferdinand, David James, Frank Lampard, and Robbie Fowler.

This summer’s EPG Cup is shaping up to be a nostalgic feast, offering fans a rare chance to see their heroes lace up their boots once more for national pride in a celebration of football’s enduring magic.

Henry and other Confirmed players

Thierry Henry, Ronaldinho, and David Villa

Argentina – Esteban Cambiasso (C), Hernan Crespo and Pablo Zabaleta.

Brazil – Emerson (C), Kaka, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Cafu and Roberto Carlos.

France – Christian Karembeu (C), Thierry Henry and Marcel Desailly.

Germany – Kevin Kuranyi (C), Mesut Ozil and Sami Khedira.

Italy – Marco Materazzi (C), Fabio Cannavaro and Francesco Totti.

Spain – Michel Salgado (C), David Villa and Carlos Puyol.

Uruguay – Diego Lugano (C) and Diego Forlan.

Share this post:


Scroll to Top
× How can I help you?