Jose Peseiro unveils 50-man provisional Super Eagles squad ahead of AFCON 2023

Super Eagles manager, Jose Peseiro submits preliminary list of 50 players for AFCON 2023, with notable names like Gift Orban and Balogun missing.

Head coach Jose Peseiro has announced a 40-man provisional list to CAF ahead of next year’s Africa Cup of Nations, sparking discussions among fans and analysts about the team’s composition, strategic choices, and notable inclusions and omissions.

The list includes a blend of experienced players and new faces as the Super Eagles look forward to preparing for the AFCON in January.

Among the goalkeepers, Stanley Nwabili of Chippa United, Francis Uzoho, Adewale Adeleye (based in Israel), Christian Nwoke of newly promoted NPFL side, Sporting Lagos and Enyimba’s Ojo Olorunleke have been selected.

Notable returns to the squad include Ahmed Musa and Paul Onuachu. However, some surprising omissions are former first-choice goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, Glasgow Rangers defender Leon Balogun, and forward Cyriel Dessers​​.

The final 27-player squad will be announced by Coach Peseiro on January 3, 2024, just ten days before Nigeria’s opening match against Equatorial Guinea at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Ebimpe, Abidjan.

The team is expected to begin camping for the tournament later this month​​.

Share this post:


Scroll to Top
× How can I help you?